Dyspraxia Q&A: Part 10

This sure has been an interesting journey, and one that I hope you have enjoyed reading about. Today is the last part of my Q&A series (of course depending on if I get anymore future questions). So here are my last 5 responses to your questions.

Have I had any Dyspraxia related injuries?

Yes I’ve had a few bumps, bruises and scars. Also 1 higher profile injury. The worst injury I had was when I broke my collar bone by falling off my bike. Funnily enough, a broken collar bone is actually the most common injury for cyclists. I never knew that before.

Most of my injuries have been due to falling off a bike. One would possibly come to think that cycling isn’t exactly my favourite thing to do after these occurrences. You’d be right by thinking that.

How does Dyspraxia affect my movement?

I think this is another thing where variety is a big part. Sometimes when I’m running I put a lot of energy into it even if I was just jogging. I never really did quite understand the term “steady jog”. I always ended up putting so much energy into it. Whether this was by swinging my arms a little or using a lot of leg power, I don’t really remember.

Lifting weights at the gym is also something where my movement may not be as highly developed as someone else’s who doesn’t have Dyspraxia. I end up being in situations where I’m almost locking my muscles… Which is one of the worst possible things you can do.

At the end of the day, the big thing with movement is the body responding to instructions it has been given. And sometimes those instructions can get lost somewhere and everything can become a bit haywire.

Was it difficult doing GCSE exams not knowing I had Dyspraxia?

The whole process was quite a challenge. But when I was in the exam rooms I didn’t really think about the fact it was like a worst nightmare. Being in a room full of people but being quiet wouldn’t be many people’s cup of tea.

But for me sometimes I need to have music on or be able to talk about things to remember things. So being in exam conditions is one of my worst nightmares. But I got through it and got 6 GCSEs (or 5 GCSEs and a BTEC Merit). So I was thrilled with my results… But the environment is one I hate with a passion.

What reasonable adjustments do I need as a dyspraxic person?

First of all I’d say I need the understanding that at times I may be unable to process lots of instructions. I’d need to be able to write things down at all times.

Secondly I’d need to be allowed to use things which basically make an environment more suitable for me, whatever those things may be.

I’d also need a great level of understanding that I also have social anxiety and a level of avoidance due to some past experiences. So I’d need people to understand that sometimes I may not be someone who will be full of conversation. I guess more support for this would be very welcome too.

The thing that I’d hope would be understood, is by default I’m dyspraxic and have more difficulty with interacting with people so need to sometimes be prompted to even interact with someone. The art of interacting with other people is sometimes one which makes me very nervous and almost make me want to go back into my shell.

Do I have any Dyspraxia related projects I want to start up?

Definitely. I’d love to create a local support group for people with Dyspraxia.

I’d love to meet people who have the condition and hopefully gain some new friends as this would mean the world to me.

Also part of my plans would be to do some sort of fundraising activity to donate funds to the Dyspraxia Foundation, who do a lot of great work to increase awareness and discussion about Dyspraxia.

So there you have it, after 10 blog posts and 50 questions, perhaps you now have an insight into the character that I am and how Dyspraxia and ASD affect my life. I hope you have all enjoyed this series. I know I have very much enjoyed it. Thank you to those of you that have maintained interest and stayed on the journey.

4 thoughts on “Dyspraxia Q&A: Part 10”

  1. You have worked really hard on this blog Sam. I think you have opened up the opportunity for people to gain a greater insight in to who you are as well as a better understanding of how dyspraxia can present different challenges along with coordination difficulties. O

    Like

  2. Very articulate, and a great insight into what it is like having Dyspraxia. I am sure this series will have been very informative for many others.

    Like

Leave a comment